Possibility recedes, hairline recedes

One of the strangest things for me about being old (23) is that some elite athletes are noticeably younger than me. See Kevin Durant:

The best time to see that Durant is still a kid is before games. At Staples Center this morning he shoots for only 15 minutes, then plants himself on the scorer’s table to check out the peripheral action, specifically the warmup routines of the Clippers’ dance team. It’s not what you think — well, it’s sort of what you think — but Durant gets just as big a kick out of watching the junior team, swaying and bobbing his head to replicate the preteens’ moves. He is already celebrated around Seattle for offering to play video games with any young neighbors who have the temerity to come knocking on his door. “Sometimes they bring him cookies,” says his mother.

KD—an exceedingly wealthy young man, with exceedingly ridiculous talent—lives with his mom. I love love love my mom, but I would rather cheer for the Bulls than live with my mom on a full-time basis again. Read the SI piece.

3 Responses to “Possibility recedes, hairline recedes”

  1. Kenny Says:

    Warning: Writing this at work, meaning I’ll probably write a few sentences and then work, and then write a bit. Hopefully all this all makes sense when i’m done. I’ve got a few thoughts.

    Durant is good. It will be interesting to see how he holds up as seattle struggles this season. In that stones game Sunday night blaha mentioned that prior to this current streak he had never lost consecutive games, let alone 7 straight. He seems to be playing well, although he definitely needs to hit the weight room. Looking at him makes you appreciate Lebron even more, who came into the league a year younger looking about 5 years older. Seriously it’s crazy how built he was for an 18 year old. I know I’m probably pissing zach off by talking up Lebron again, but really, the guy is rediculous.

    Also, I wanted to touch on something you mentioned in an earlier reply, that chauncey has seemingly regressed. I have been thinking about it and I agree he seems to be having less of an impact on games than he used to. Last year he was downright bad for stretches of the playoffs. But his regular season numbers don’t seem to bear out the theory that he has declined significantly, at least not from last year. Two years ago (when he finished fifth i believe in the MVP voting) was unquestionably his best season. He averaged 18+ per and 8.6 dimes, and shot a rediculous percentage from behind the arc. Last year his numbers dipped to around 17 and 7. But the pistons as a whole were less effective than they were two years ago, not just chauncey. It’s early this season but his numbers are pretty similar 17.5 pts 6.7 asst, in a few less minutes per night. He’s averaged pretty much 2 TO’s in each of the last three seasons. Now I’ll be the first to admit that statistics don’t necessarily accurately measure a player’s impact on a game, but they do provide a factual basis for trying to compare differing time periods. As opposed to trying to rely on our memories which are going to sometimes be flawed. I think in this case Chauncey is a bit of a victim of his own success he played so well two years ago (probably a bit above his own head) that we got spoiled. I mean looking back it seems like he basically hit every big shot and never made a mistake in crunch time. But like i said, the entire team was clicking on all cylinders that regular season. They won 64 games that year. I try to think back about how Chauncey’s game is different from then, and I just don’t see it. Maybe some of the big shots he was hitting aren’t going down, he hit a couple in fourth quarter of that chicago game, but also failed to convert down the stretch. But so did sheed and rip.

    His strength has never been as a creator. He doesn’t get that much penatration. His main assets are size, which he uses fairly effectively to post up smaller guys, a damn good three point shot, and the ability to protect the ball. His main function is as a distributor to RIP coming off screens or to one of the other guys in the post. Maybe he has lost half a step, and is even less effective than he once was at getting in the paint (that would account for a loss of about 2 assists per from his peak two seasons ago if his current numbers hold out), but I don’t ever really recall a time when chauncey was blowing by people and getting in the paint and either getting to the rim or dishing it off.

    I guess I’m not exactly disagreeing with you. When I watch the Pistons I don’t feel like he’s as effective as he once was (at least in my memories) but at the same time I can’t really pinpoint any way that his game has changed. It will be interesting to see what happens in the playoffs because that is where his reputation grew, and he was definitely not good last year. But good players sometimes play bad, even in big spots, it doesn’t always signal the beginning of the end. Let’s hope that’s the case with chauncey, seeing as how we just signed him to that fat extention.

  2. Kenny Says:

    i’m holding down this blog today. where are zach and pat? I mean i know nobody cares about the first two weeks of the nba season, but this lack of posting is getting rediculous. Thankfully i’m here to offer insight and commentary. What are you paying your writers these days? 30-40k? I should stop working for free! Or in the absence of my own commentary I’ll just copy and paste Simmons on here. Lately I haven’t been that blown away by his work (we get it Bill, you think the Patriots are the best team ever) but this excerpt made me laugh.

    “Reason No. 12,743 why I love the NBA: Okafor turning down Charlotte’s $55 million extension when he has played in 166 of a possible 266 games over the past three seasons. I’m not one of the best 10 power forwards in the league. I can’t stay on the court, and I don’t have any low-post moves. Guys, the bidding starts at $70 million! The NBA needs to work this saga into its “Where Amazing Happens” campaign: “Where Emeka Okafor Does Nothing For Three Years And Turns Down $55 Million Happens.””

    As you mentioned, the NBA is putting together a pretty solid ad campaign and I like the “amazing” ads, but that is so true. The sad thing is they could replace okafor with countless other names. “Where Chris Webber getting paid 15 mil by philly to go play for Detroit happens.” , “Where Anderson Varejao’s agent can convince him he’s the key to Cleveland’s title hopes and holding out is a good idea happens”, “Where two words ‘Theo Ratliff” happens.”

  3. zachary Says:

    those are the two longest posts ever. i dont think i can read all that

Leave a Reply

