Caffeine and the league

On my other blog, I expressed skepticism about the virtues of pro ballers downing energy drinks. But I checked with my NBA-employed friend, and he said that guys love Red Bull, and that the coaches endorse it “in moderation.” In other words, they probably wouldn’t endorse drinking it as often as I do.

Also, someone named Woody chipped in with the following:

Actually, if you look at the nutritional value of Red Bull it is very much a good product for athletic performance. I don’t think the others are though, due to the manufacturers using High Fructose Corn Syrup as the sweetener as opposed to the Sucrose & Glucose found in Red Bull. I am a serious ironman triathlete and have been training & racing using RB since a trainer for the Sacramento Kings turned me on to it about 4 years ago. Since then I met their sponsored athlete Tim Deboom (Ironman Hawaii champion 2x) and have fine tuned my use of Red Bull, water and gels according to me glucose needs. So yea, NBA players can certainly benefit from it as I have.

Well, I guess I stand corrected.

8 Responses to “Caffeine and the league”

  1. sloan Says:

    testing testing.

  2. sloan Says:

    testing again.

  3. zachary Says:

    so wait, do people you dont know actually read your blog? thats kinda cool. and sorta impressive.

  4. Kenny Says:

    clearly other people must read his blog because in no way could any of our friends be considered “ironman athletes.” Although I guess Heintz did run a marathon a while back. But now i’d say he’s more apt to bong a beer while listening to “Ironman” than participate in an ironman. Unless you count the extreme test of endurance that will the MSU-UM tailgate on Saturday. Might need some redbull to get through that.

  5. sloan Says:

    My blogs are big in the Ironman community.

  6. zachary Says:

    just because hes not one of our friends jerry could still know him. i dont know anyone jerry knows in boston. but im amazed that someone totally unknowing of jerry is reading his blog.

  7. Pat Says:

    Jerry owns, marathons are hard, ironmans are fucking insane. The marathon is only 1/3 of the fricken thing. I wanted to do a half ironman but i’m not a very good swimmer. I can stay afloat, but if i try to swim for speed i get tired REALLLY fast.

    When i first tasted red bull i thought it was the worst thing ever invented. Many Jager bombs later and now its delicious.

  8. sloan Says:

    I don’t know that guy. No idea who he is.

Leave a Reply

